the rohn report
the rohn report
a mighty vision a little complaining and a powerful solution
3
0:00
-10:41

a mighty vision a little complaining and a powerful solution

3

the mighty vision

Envision a world where all the things essential to life are readily available for everybody: food, water, shelter, healthcare. No one is deprived. Envision a world based on the idea that human beings are more important than corporations.

Envision a world where healthcare is not a product but a gift. Something we can give each other and ourselves. Of course professional health care providers are needed and schools to train them and medicines to help cure people but imagine the possibilities of people providing each other with health care not just the ‘health insurance companies’, whose policies are determined mostly by profit.

Back in the day the village healer or the medicine man or the old curandera, the bruja, could bring the healing.

Did you know that listening to someone’s expression and touching them with kindness - physical touch, the healing touch, are healing modalities? Did you know that sitting under a tree and watching the leaves dance in the wind is a healing modality for the eyes and the spirit?

a little complaining

Does everything have to be a product and a business? Back in the day if someone needed a house or a barn, everyone came together and helped build it. There was no real estate ‘business’, making money off of people’s need for shelter.

Ok, I’m being an idealist. We don’t live like that anymore. Wake up and join the modern world. But the way we live in the modern world is unsustainable. We devour the resources of the planet and turn them into mountains of trash. We spend our national fortune on weapons to destroy some other nations weapons. That’s a good business but a stupid way to manage our precious resources.

We turn everything into a business and a product including education. Envision education as a community service, done by the community to benefit the community. Yes we need professional teachers but each of us has something to share with the children. And the children have something to share with all of us. Why do we have to sequester them away behind walls and stuff a curriculum down their throat?

Universities have become corporations with a marketing plan and a logo and an endowment fund. The nearby University of Texas has more than 40 billion dollars sitting in their endowment fund. That’s more than some countries are worth.

Freaks me out, this obsession with monetizing everything. Heck I even monetize my newsletter so I’m caught in it too.

Ok. I’m done with that. I’m sitting here under the Cedar tree in front of the Sunset Ridge church looking at a blue sky and a tree lined horizon.

a powerful solution

It’s a gorgeous day and I’m alive. I mean what are the chances? In a universe of unbelievable proportions and of an unfathomable age, here I am. I exist.

Hard to recognize the miracles that are right in front of our face. We need something unusual, weird maybe, to qualify as a miracle. Our own existence doesn’t qualify but it’s the biggest miracle of all. I pray for the eyes to see that.

A bird flies thru the air with pure freedom, banks, heads for the tree with branches, full of leaves, moving in the breeze, a delicate dance against the sky, lands somewhere in there. I get on my bike and ride.

Birds see the world from the treetops down, land is in the background. I see the world from the ground up. My eye scans for connection. I can’t fly so I have to make my way among the earth objects. I bank and cruise down Vanderheck, merge onto Cloverleaf and hammer down New Braunfels with my shirt tails flapping wildly in the wind.

Share

Leave a comment

Buy me a coffee


music :: Man in a Room, Emancipator
thank you for the amazing soundtracks

3 Comments
the rohn report
the rohn report
dissertations on almost anything about being human / contemporary and humorous observations / bulletins and notifications / tips and quips / sermons