the rohn report
the rohn report
existence is for joy
0:00
-4:32

existence is for joy

I heard that the other day and it’s been ringing in my mind ever since. Talk about pungent. Talk about concise, precise. Talk about mind bending. Existence is for joy. That’s a sentence with some resonance.

Let’s talk about string theory. Turns out (according the the string theorists) that everything is made out of tiny vibrating strings, all the matter in the universe and the forces that act upon it is made up of tiny vibrating strings. It’s a symphony. All those chords resonating and creating music. The music is called the universe.

It’s really just a way of conceiving the world. If we could see ‘God’ or reality directly it would blow our little minds. That’s what dying is, isn’t it? Going back to ‘God’. Something we cannot possibly do as long as we’re limited by our mind.

So anywho, we’re not dead yet or you wouldn’t be reading this and I wouldn’t be writing it. We exist. For joy. I like it. Not sure what it means. Simple words though. I should be able to figure it out.

I feel joy when I ride my bike.

I roam around the streets of my fair city, visit the cafes and parks and have adventures. They may be small little adventures like seeing a pigeon fly down the road with me but it doesn’t matter I feel them anyways.

Disclaimer: just so you don’t get the wrong idea - I don’t always feel the joy. Sometimes I feel empty, lost and abandoned but it passes and the joy comes back because that’s the default mode. Isn’t it? I think so.

Then I get up on my bike and ride. Down hill and down wind if I’m lucky, maybe hills and traffic if I’m not lucky, but it’s all good. It’s all good and there’s always something to discover.

I feel joy when I discover music. Things Heard and Seen (mix by Billy Esteban).

Figuring out about joy might be the best discovery. Discovering your existence, the joyful part of your existence. Finding something that feels good, that resonates with the deepest part of you. That would be your existence. Where the joy is.

There are no emojis on substack or I would pile them on. Laughing to tears, boingo eyes, crazy smiles.

I feel joy when I feel joy. That’s kind of dumb but it’s true.

When I don’t feel the joy I wait for it. I know it’s there somewhere

leave a comment

Leave a comment

share with a friend

Share

join the jolly club

0 Comments
the rohn report
the rohn report
dissertations on almost anything about being human / contemporary and humorous observations / bulletins and notifications / tips and quips / sermons