the rohn report
the rohn report
repose
4
0:00
-7:11

repose

4

I spent the past week in quiet repose. Nothing compelling appeared on the screen of my mind, no writing projects, no ambitious need to say something, no urgency to accomplish anything.

Mostly what I’ve been trying to do is inhabit my own body; own it and feel it. Notice my own existence and be in communion with it. Sleep alot. Wake up slowly. Eat simply. Meditate. I’ve been meditating.

Kairos, I was told today in the cafe, is an ancient Greek god, brother of Chronos as in chronograph, a watch, linear time, quantitative time. Kairos, on the other hand, his brother, is the god of spontaneous time, of the propitious moment, the dance of the hours, qualitative time. I’ve been spending this week in Kairos time.

There are projects. Home repair. Replacing the rotten boards on my backyard shed for example. I have put this project off for so long that the boards I got to replace the rotten boards are rotten. They have been sitting on the ground buried in leaves for two years and the mushroom mycelium has started to digest them. I pulled them out, cleaned them off, found some good wood - enough to cover the spans needed. Tomorrow I’ll cut them to length and stain them, when they’re dry I’ll install them. Screws, no nails.

All in Kairos time. In the flow of things. It’s a great blessing. A way to heal many things. A way to finally get something done.

I think that’s what my week of repose has been all about. Healing. Finding a deeper sense of feeling ok, finding elation, Consorting with the gods. It turns out that elation is the elixir that cures all pain.

Wow. I didn’t know that.

music :: Roberto Bronco - Day after Day

Leave a comment

Share

Leave a donation

4 Comments
the rohn report
the rohn report
dissertations on almost anything about being human / contemporary and humorous observations / bulletins and notifications / tips and quips / sermons