the rohn report
the rohn report
seventy one
3
0:00
-6:21

seventy one

3

So I just had my 71st birthday this week. Wow and I’m feeling it. I thought I was bullet proof. I would live to be 120. Not.

When I was a young whippersnapper I thought I would live forever. Why not? Just cause everybody else died didn’t mean I would. Actually it was a rejoinder to my religious friends who wanted to make sure I was going to heaven. It doesn’t apply if you never die, right?

That was ridiculous, of course, but so was the idea of going to heaven, like some kind of a Grand Hyatt resort hotel with a 36 hole golf course and a 24 hour buffet, perfect weather and no one gets mad.

What would you do for all eternity anyways after you’d played the course about a million times? Sit in the bar and watch reruns of old TV shows from life on earth, drama and comedy from back when things mattered? I mean think about it, if you live forever and everything is perfect then nothing matters. There are no consequences.

Anyways, I dropped my target down from eternity to 120 and that has been considerably lowered lately. Not that I don’t have aspirations of living a long healthy life with lots of rohn reports but it’s not going to be easy. And herein lies the point of my tirade.

Each day is made up of 24 hours and every hour is made up of 60 minutes. Right? And every minute is made up of 60 seconds. They go by pretty quickly. One thousand one, one thousand two, one thousand three . . . there go 3 seconds. And our life is made up of a collection of these days into weeks and months and years. The years of which, of course, we have only a hand full of.

Let me rephrase that: life goes by just like the seconds and minutes of our days. It’s just a matter of perspective. We can see the seconds and minutes, we don’t really see the years.

Until you get to be 71 and stuff starts happening or stuff starts not happening that’s supposed to happen. I won’t go into details but basically everything we take for granted begins to be called into question.

A lifetime - from birth to death - is a gift of the creator. I mean obviously we didn’t create ourselves or the world we live in or the universe it’s riding in. It’s a divine gift, if there is any meaning to that word, because it allows us to conceive of something called ‘divine’.

The universe is not beautiful, it just is, but we see beauty in it, magnificence. What? Wow!

photo by the NASA Hubble Space Telescope hubblesite.org

A tree spreads its branches into the sky, spreads its roots under the earth, connects both with a tower of wood. It’s collecting sunlight from the sky and nutrients from the soil so it can survive and make seeds. We see something beautiful, grand, majestic - just as the squirrels see acorns in the branches and transit points above the ground.

I can see the tree. It’s beautiful. The tree of life. What else can you do with your own mortality? I think the older you get the more you see it. The more beautiful it is. Created by nobody and nothing we know, it just is. How wonderful.

Maybe I’m just a little seed that falls off and goes back into the ground. Or maybe I get eaten by a squirrel haha. Digested and metabolized. Giving life to new life.

The fact that no one knows what happens at the end of life makes it extremely mysterious. Anything could happen. Can you prove me wrong?

But the fact that life does have an end makes being alive extremely compelling.

A favorite poem from a favorite book poem picture.

two great lights

in the lower sky 
last night venus 
maybe and her lover

across the way in the city of stars
orion watched from his castle
the pleiades chatted drowsily 
andromeda of course chained to her rock waited 
and waited for someone to show up with a key

but those are not my stories 
someone else saw the starry mask and
described it that way

 all i saw were two wanderers walking
where there was no path and there were no stars

music from Cafe de Anatolia 40:52

sign up for this newsletter

leave a comment

Leave a comment

share with a friend

Share

visit the archive for more stories

archive

3 Comments
the rohn report
the rohn report
dissertations on almost anything about being human / contemporary and humorous observations / bulletins and notifications / tips and quips / sermons
Listen on
Substack App
RSS Feed
Appears in episode
rohn bayes
Recent Episodes